House Democrats elect Aguilar, Allred in contested leadership elections

California’s Eric Swalwell will also continue as a Steering co-chair, and Pelosi appointed Illinois Rep. Cheri Bustos, the outgoing head of the DCCC, to the third co-chair spot. Bustos replaces Connecticut’ Rosa DeLauro, who is running to lead the House Appropriations Committee.

The caucus also voted by acclamation to elect four co-chairs to the Democratic Policy and Communications Committee as that’s how many candidates were running. 

The current three DPCC co-chairs, Michigan’s Debbie Dingell, California’s Ted Lieu and Pennsylvania’s Matt Cartwright, won second terms — their last per caucus rules.

Joining them is Colorado’s Joe Neguse, who was elected to fill a fourth co-chair seat that the caucus installed this fall to replace the so-called chair of chairs position created two years ago for Rep. David Cicilline of Rhode Island. Cicilline lost a bid for assistant speaker Wednesday to Clark.

Neguse, the outgoing freshman leadership co-representative, made history with his 2018 election as Colorado’s first Black member of Congress. He is also the first Eritrean American to serve in Congress.

Source link

Friends, this isn’t the time to be complacent. If you are ready to fight for the soul of this nation, you can start by donating to elect Joe Biden and Kamala Harris by clicking the button below.


Thank you so much for supporting Joe Biden’s Presidential campaign.

What do you think?


Written by Politixia

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time to jettison horse race polls

Cleveland reports 256 newly confirmed COVID-19 coronavirus cases, no new deaths: Thursday update