Filing deadline reveals new state senator, primary challengers for Borton

GAYLORD — Voters in Otsego County will be selecting a new state senator and the incumbent for the state house district that includes the county will face three primary challengers in August.

April 19 was the deadline for candidates to file for state offices. In the newly drawn 105th state house district, incumbent Republican Ken Borton of Gaylord will square off against fellow GOPers Mark McFarlin of Grayling, Kim Morley of Roscommon and Diane Randall of Houghton Lake Heights.

The Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission eliminated Antrim and Charlevoix counties from the district that Borton won in 2020. The commission added counties to the south like Crawford and Roscommon.

“(Borton) will have to introduce himself to a bunch of voters he didn’t have contact with in 2020,” said Scott LaDeur, political science professor at North Central Michigan College in Petoskey.

Source link

Friends, this isn’t the time to be complacent. If you are ready to fight for the soul of this nation, you can start by donating to elect Joe Biden and Kamala Harris by clicking the button below.


Thank you so much for supporting Joe Biden’s Presidential campaign.

What do you think?

Written by Politixia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

How Trump Gamed Ukraine: The Payoff For Putin

Josh Riley’s campaign committed fraud in Democratic bid for Congress, lawsuit claims