David Gilmour / Luck and Strange – SuperDeluxeEdition

David Gilmour / Luck and Strange – SuperDeluxeEdition

New studio album • Blu-ray with Atmos, hi-res stereo and 4 bonus tracks

David Gilmour will release a new studio album called Luck and Strange in September.


The guitarist and songwriter’s fifth solo long-player was recorded over five months in Brighton and London and is Gilmour’s first album of new material in nine years. David co-produced with ALT-J’s Charlie Andrew and Marika Hackman, with lyrics mostly written by Polly Samson.

Of this new working relationship, David says, “We invited Charlie to the house, so he came and listened to some demos, and said things like, “Well, why does there have to be a guitar solo there?” and “Do they all fade out? Can’t some of them just end?”. He has a wonderful lack of knowledge or respect for this past of mine. He’s very direct and not in any way overawed, and I love that. That is just so good for me because the last thing you want is people just deferring to you.”

Musicians contributing to the record include Guy Pratt and Tom Herbert on bass; Adam Betts, Steve Gadd and Steve DiStanislao on drums; Rob Gentry and Roger Eno on keyboards; and the string and choral arrangements are by Will Gardner.

Blu-ray Audio edition features a Dolby Atmos Mix, hi-res 96/24 stereo and 4 bonus tracks. Pre-order via SDE.

The album features eight new tracks along with a beautiful reworking of The Montgolfier Brothers’ ‘Between Two Points’, which sees Romany Gilmour, who performs backing vocals across the album, on vocals and harp (listen to the original version of this song, here). The title track also features the late Pink Floyd keyboard player Richard Wright, recorded in 2007 during a ‘Barn Jam’ at David’s house.

The album is available on vinyl, CD with two extra tracks and a blu-ray audio with four bonus tracks. All 13 tracks on the blu-ray are available in Dolby Atmos and 96/24 hi-res stereo.

The album’s cover image, photographed and designed by renowned artist Anton Corbijn, is inspired by lyrics written by Charlie Gilmour for the album’s final song ‘Scattered’.

Luck and Strange will be released on 6 September 2024 via Sony Music. The blu-ray and vinyl and blu-ray bundles are available via the SDE shop using this link or the buttons below.



    • All 13 tracks in Dolby Atmos Mix and (96/24) Hi-Res Stereo 
      1. Black Cat (Gilmour)
      2. Luck and Strange (Gilmour/Samson)
      3. The Piper’s Call (Gilmour/Samson)
      4. A Single Spark (Gilmour/Samson)
      5. Vita Brevis (Gilmour) 
      6. Between Two Points (Tranmer/Quigley)
      7. Dark and Velvet Nights (Gilmour/Samson)
      8. Sings (Gilmour/Samson)
      9. Scattered (D. Gilmour/Samson/C. Gilmour)
      Bonus tracks
      1. Yes, I Have Ghosts (Gilmour/Samson) 
      2. Luck and Strange (Original Barn Jam) (Gilmour/Samson)
      3. A Single Spark (Orchestral) (Gilmour/ Samson)
      4. Scattered (Orchestral) (D. Gilmour/Samson/C. Gilmour)

Announcement helps fans around the world discover physical music and discuss releases. To keep the site free, SDE participates in various affiliate programs, including Amazon and earns from qualifying purchases.

Source link


What do you think?

Written by Politixia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Day 6 of Trump New York hush money trial

Day 6 of Trump New York hush money trial

Why the term ‘DEI’ is being weaponized as a racist dog whistle

Why the term ‘DEI’ is being weaponized as a racist dog whistle