Stanford wins 2024 NCAA DI women’s golf championship

Stanford wins 2024 NCAA DI women’s golf championship

No. 1 Stanford has defeated No. 6 UCLA for the 2024 DI women’s golf national championship.


This is the Cardinal’s second title in the last three years and the third since winning their first in 2015.

The team championship finals concluded on May 22 at the Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in Carlsbad, California, hosted by the University of Texas at Austin.

Texas A&M’s Adela Cernousek captured the DI women’s golf individual title to become the first golfer In Texas A&M history to win an individual championship. 

Regional action for the 2024 NCAA DI women’s golf championships concluded on May 8 and the championship field of 30 teams and six individuals (not affiliated with those teams) was determined. See the full championships release here. Below you can find the results of each round of finals.

2024 DI women’s golf schedule, results

Finals (May 17-22)

  • DAY 6 TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP — Match Play Finals | RECAP
  • DAY 5 TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP — Match Play Semifinals
  • DAY 5 TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP — Match Play Quarterfinals |RECAP
    • T-1. LSU – 1154
    • T-1. Stanford – 1154
    • T-3. Texas A&M -1157
    • 🏆 1. Adela Cernousek, Texas A&M – Winner, 276  
    • 2. Lottie Woad, Florida State – 279
    • 3. Paula Martin Sampedro – 282
    • 1. Texas A&M -854
    • 2. Stanford -855
    • 3. LSU -863
    • 1. Texas A&M -565
    • 2. Stanford – 570
    • 3. Clemson -573
    • 1. Clemson -280
    • 2. Texas A&M – 281
    • T-3. Stanford – 285
    • T-3. Auburn  – 285
    • T-3. Northwestern – 285

📊 Latest rankings | 🎟️ Ticket information

The 30 teams competing in the championship: Auburn, Oregon, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tulsa, Ole Miss, Texas, Wake Forest, Mississippi State, Oregon State, LSU, Clemson, SMU, Vanderbilt, Texas A&M, Stanford, Duke, Virginia, Arizona State, San Jose State, Southern California, Oklahoma State, Michigan State, Northwestern, Pepperdine, Arkansas, Purdue, Baylor, UCLA and Florida State.

The six individuals competing in the championship: Isabella McCauley of Minnesota, Bailey Davis of Tennessee, Carla Bernat of Kansas State, Jasmine Leovao of Long Beach State, Lauren Beaudreau of Notre Dame and Veronika Kedronova of Kent State

Regionals (May 6-8)

Regional selections were made on Wednesday, April 24 on the Golf Channel. Find the full schedule and championships information below. See the regional selections release here.

  • Auburn, Alabama | Auburn University Club (Auburn University, host)
  • Bermuda Run, North Carolina | Bermuda Run Country Club (Wake Forest University, host)
  • Bryan, Texas | The Traditions Club (Texas A&M University, host)
  • Las Vegas, Nevada | Spanish Trail Country Club (University of Nevada, Las Vegas, host)
  • East Lansing, Michigan | Forest Akers Golf Course (Michigan State University, host)
  • Cle Elum, Washington | Tumble Creek Club (University of Washington, host)

How the 2024 NCAA DI women’s golf championships work

Regionals took place May 6-8 and will be followed by the championship finals from May 17-22 in Carlsbad, California.

In regional play, six 54-hole regional competitions will be played to determine the participants in the championship finals. In each regional, 12 teams and six individuals not on those teams will compete. The low five teams and the individual not on those teams will advance to the finals. Beginning in 2024, regional champion awards will be given to the team champions.

In the championship finals, all 30 teams and six individuals will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, the top 15 teams along with the top nine individuals will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match-play competition and the 72-hole stroke-play individual champion. The top eight teams after 72 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 8 seed, the No. 2 seed playing the No. 7 seed, the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 seed and the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed in match play.

A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within the team match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Championships history

The Wake Forest women defeated Southern California to win the 2023 DI women’s golf national title. Rose Zhang of Stanford won the 2023 individual title, becoming the first back-to-back individual NCAA champion. See the full championship history below:

🏆 More on the 2023 championships

2024 Stanford Anne Walker 3-2 UCLA   Carlsbad, Calif.
2023 Wake Forest Kim Lewellen 3-1 Southern California   Scottsdale, AZ
2022 Stanford Anne Walker 3-2 Oregon   Scottsdale, AZ
2021 Ole Miss Kory Henkes 4-1 Oklahoma State   Scottsdale, AZ
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19   —
2019 Duke Dan Brooks 3-2 Wake Forest   Fayetteville, Ark.
2018 Arizona Laura Ianello 3-2 Alabama   Stillwater, Okla.
2017 Arizona State Missy Farr-Kaye 3-1-1 Northwestern   Sugar Grove, Ill.
2016 Washington Mary Lou Mulflur 3-2 Stanford   Eugene, Ore.
2015 Stanford Anne Walker 3-2 Baylor   Bradenton, Fla.
2014 Duke Dan Brooks 1,130 Southern California 1,132 Tulsa, Okla.
2013 Southern California Andrea Gaston 1,133 Duke 1,154 Georgia
2012 Alabama Mic Potter 1,171 USC 1,172 Vanderbilt
2011 UCLA Carrie Forsyth 1,173 Purdue 1,177 Texas A&M
2010 Purdue Devon Brouse 1,153 Southern California 1,154 Wilmington, N.C.
2009 Arizona State Melissa Luellen 1,182 UCLA 1,190 Owings Mills, Md.
2008 Southern California Andrea Gaston 1,168 UCLA 1,174 New Mexico
2007 Duke Dan Brooks 1,170 Purdue 1,185 Daytona Beach, Fla.
2006 Duke Dan Brooks 1,167 Southern California 1,177 Ohio State
2005 Duke Dan Brooks 1,170 UCLA 1,175 Oregon State
2004 UCLA Carrie Forsyth 1,148 Oklahoma State 1,151 Auburn
2003 Southern California Andrea Gaston 1,197 Pepperdine 1,213 Purdue
2002 Duke Dan Brooks 1,164 Arizona, Auburn, Texas 1,170 Washington
2001 Georgia Todd McCorkle 1,176 Duke 1,179 Stetson
2000 Arizona Todd McCorkle 1,175 Stanford 1,196 Oregon State
1999 $Duke Dan Brooks 895 Arizona State/Georgia 903 Tulsa
1998 Arizona State Linda Vollstedt 1,155 Florida 1,173 Wisconsin
1997 Arizona State Linda Vollstedt 1,178 San Jose State 1,180 Ohio State
1996 *Arizona Rick LaRose 1,240 San Jose State 1,240 UCLA
1995 Arizona State Linda Vollstedt 1,155 San Jose State 1,181 UNC-Wilmington
1994 Arizona State Linda Vollstedt 1,189 Southern California 1,205 Oregon State
1993 Arizona State Linda Vollstedt 1,187 Texas 1,189 Georgia
1992 San Jose State Mark Gale 1,171 Arizona 1,175 Arizona State
1991 *UCLA Jackie Steinmann 1,197 San Jose State 1,197 Ohio State
1990 Arizona State Linda Vollstedt 1,206 UCLA 1,222 South Carolina
1989 San Jose State Mark Gale 1,208 Tulsa 1,209 Stanford
1988 #Tulsa Dale McNamara 1,175 Georgia/Arizona State 1,182 New Mexico State
1987 San Jose State Mark Gale 1,187 Furman 1,188 New Mexico
1986 Florida Mimi Ryan 1,180 Miamia (Fla.) 1,188 Ohio State
1985 Florida Mimi Ryan 1,218 Tulsa 1,233 Amherst
1984 Miami (Fla.) Lela Cannon 1,214 Arizona State 1,221 Georgia
1983 TCU Fred Warren 1,193 Tulsa 1,196 Georgia
1982 Tulsa Dale McNamara 1,191 TCU 1,227 Stanford

*Won in sudden death

$Fourth Round canceled due to rain

#Tulsa’s participation in 1988 championships vacated


^Format switched to match play in 2015 season

Source link


What do you think?

Written by Politixia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Whose lives matter to the Republican governor of Texas?

Whose lives matter to the Republican governor of Texas?

Temu And Shein Are So Popular The Air Cargo Industry Can’t Keep Up

Temu And Shein Are So Popular The Air Cargo Industry Can’t Keep Up